RSS Feed

19th February: Texas Potroast

I’m new to this blogging lark. Forgive me. I’ve never even written a diary. Well, I did briefly when I was 12 but very rapidly bored myself with my angsty ramblings. I digress.

I fancied writing something. I currently spend a LOT of time with pre-school aged children. They are ace. However, occasionally I yearn to communicate with a different audience. Possibly even with intelligent adults of a similar age. Here goes… I thought I’d try and loosely base my ramblings around a central theme. For me this must be cooking. I love cooking. I do an awful lot of it too. I have 3 tiny children, and one strapping man, to nourish on a daily basis.

In semi-homage to my favourite recipe book, The Kitchen Diaries by Nigel Slater, I am going to attempt to record a calendar year of my culinary endeavours. Not on a daily basis, don’t panic! Just some of the more noteworthy ones.

I hope you enjoy reading it…

Texas Brisket a la Nigella

I was bleakly strolling around the supermarket yesterday looking for inspiration to put into my trolley. It’s no mean feat feeding this lot. Exhausting in fact. Added to the fact that this week has been possibly the most testing of my Mothering career to date. A mystery virus took down everyone but me. Raging fevers, hacking coughs and vomiting a go go. Good times.

So I was also trying to find something wholesome and hearty to build up the convalescing toddlers. I saw a beef brisket on offer. A memory of a Nigella recipe stirred and I decided to go for it.

I love Nigella. I realise she’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but she is mine. I love her books and the fact that she loves the same stuff as me. Rare meat, chicken skin, butter, cream, cheese. Yum. I also find her more credible given that she has clearly had to cook for a family instead of food critics.

The recipe sounded odd. Awful in fact. Sit the beef on a bed of sliced onions. Add a potion of soy sauce, Worcester sauce, vinegar and er….coffee. Yes coffee. Bleurgh. It says something for how much I rate the woman that I decided to give it a go. I don’t even drink coffee. But, this was Nigella, she who introduced me to Coca Cola Ham, and that’s now our Christmas staple.

I cooked it on low for 3 hours. And the verdict? The beef was tasty and tender, the coffee had melted away leaving a rich smokey gravy. 4 out of 5 of us enjoyed it, but my two year old is generally appalled by anything that isn’t dry and beige so his opinion doesn’t count frankly. Sarah’s Score: 7/10.

2 responses »

  1. So as you know I don’t like to cook and like your younger diary entries, when it comes to cooking, I bore easily. But, if you endeavour to keep me inspired and interested – which you already have on day one, then I promise to be one of your loyal readers. Who knows it might even get me trying some of your culinary delights – and that’s sure to get some attention from hadders. Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

