RSS Feed

25th March: Souvlaki Lamb kebabs

Well summer is upon us. Clocks forward so we’ve had the illusion of waking up after 7am instead of the usual 6. We paid for it this evening as the kids could plainly see it was broad daylight at bedtime. It was quite the mission to get them into their pits.

A warm day means, of course, the men in our village like to take their tops off and strut. Notice how it’s never the hot men though. Just the pink, apey ones. Their female counterparts dress in some questionable ensembles. But who am I to talk? I’ve bought a Playsuit of all things. Something a woman of my age should probably have thought twice about.

Summer means happy days in our house. My kids are of the free-range variety. A sunny day means I can lob them out of the back door to hunt for bugs all morning. Feed them outside, therefore no under table sweeping for me (my major domestic bugbear). They don’t wear as many clothes so the washing pile decreases considerably.

Downside? They go completely feral. Filthy fingernails, pelting eachother with garden detritus, a bit of Greco-Roman wresting on the trampoline. The boys also wap their bits out and wee wherever they stand. I blame Him for this last one. He initiated something called ‘The Widdly Woo Corner’ when the Big One was potty training. It stuck, much to my horror. They also don’t quite seem to understand that everywhere we pass or visit isn’t one big Widdly Woo Corner. Cue many an embarrassing outing for me.

The in-laws came for lunch today. A belated Mothers Day. We sat outside drinking fizzy cocktails. My mother-in-law, not your seasoned drinker, shows off her newly acquired armoury of swear words. Most incongruous if you know her. Think Julie Andrews gone to the bad. Amusing nonetheless!

I make us some Lamb Souvlaki. A favourite summertime lunch for us. It reminds me and He of lazier, easier days spent zipping about on scooters in the Greek Islands. (I did warn you earlier that we’d had a charmed life!). They sell these on most street corners for about a euro.

I marinade the lamb in sea salt, garlic, lemon, olive oil and dill. Then pop the meat onto skewers before barbecuing. Then add some homemade tzatziki and a lovely Greek salad whipped up by my sous-chef. A rather successful raspberry cheesecake for pud.

Sitting there, supping cocktails, eating our Greek feast, with the sun on my face, I almost feel like my 20 something self on holiday. Almost. Happy days 10/10.

20120326-233455.jpg

20120326-233502.jpg

20120326-233508.jpg

5 responses »

  1. Gordon Chree

    Looks good. What proportions for the various ingredients in the marinade?

    Reply
  2. Thanks Gordon. For about 700g Lamb, I use 1tbsp sea salt and 3 cloves garlic. Grind in pestle and mortar to make a paste. Add 4 tbsp olive oil, juice and zest 1 lemon and a handful of chopped dill. Mix well and marinade meat for at least 2 hours. I heartily recommend this, it’s one of my all time favourites. Have also done on a butterflied leg of lamb on BBQ before. Excellent. Please report back if you try it!

    Reply
  3. Ok, so I am going to try this one on the braai. I would love the mother-in-law to be there as a few swear words would never go a miss in the Hadley household (and we miss her). Bring on the lamb, that’s what I say . . . hadders being a kiwi, might question the meat more than my cooking abilities on this occassion… so in that case, in case you didn’t hear me . . . bring on that good ol’ South African lamb! x

    Reply
  4. I have to say after reading this, I too was transported back to the first holiday Dave & I shared on the Greek island of Kos….such bliss!!
    Anyway, guess what were now having for tea???? Yep, Lamb Kebabs 🙂
    Although mine have been marinaded in all sorts & always a small sprinkle of chilli flakes for me!! hehe!
    x x x x

    Reply
  5. Thanks ladies for reading 🙂 well…how were the kebabs then?? Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

